The Question Runners Hate to Hear

“Why?” “Why do you want to run all that way when it hurts?” “Why do you want to run so far if you’re going to hurt for days afterward?” “There are easier hobbies.” “There are better ways to have fun.” “Enjoy getting up at 4:30am while I’m in bed asleep.” Why, why, why.

I just read an article on Active.com about this same topic and since I am so passionate about it, I thought I would expound on it. So, here ya go, peeps.

After my introduction a few weeks ago on why I love running, I think this is a good follow-up. First and foremost, do you really think I would do something on my own time that I really didn’t like? So, after reading this, I need you to ask yourself why you don’t run; or better yet, do you have anything in your life that gives you the same feeling?

Let me be completely honest. There are days that I really hate running. They are few and far between, but, those days do come. I dread them. Running is a love/hate relationship. Those days that I hate it usually come the day after a 17 or 20 miler, or actually, the rest of that day that I run that distance until I hit my tub and bed. A big percentage of running is mental. For example, I have to mentally prepare for a long run. My running buddy, Tim, wanted to switch a long run from Saturday to Friday one time. Saturday mornings are long run time for me. He decided to tell me this Friday morning at work. I was already mentally preparing for a Saturday morning run. I really can’t tell you what my mind goes through during this ”prep” time, but it’s a process that I have to have before I do pretty much anything over 10 miles. I was aggravated that he would flip this on me so soon before the run. Nonetheless, you give and take during training if you have a running partner, and I gave in. Schedules change sometimes and you deal with it. We started our run Friday afternoon. But, let me tell you, from the time we decided to run it Friday instead of Saturday, my mind was in overdrive. I think about what I had for supper the night before. Was it enough carbs? Have I hydrated enough? Do I have enough ShotBlocks on me? What can I eat for lunch that will be “run compatible” so I don’t have to hit the bathroom every 2 miles. Yes, even this question sounds gross, but it’s a big part of planning for long runs. If you’re a runner, talking about how regular you are is pretty regular. (teeheehee) Fellow runners have all been there, so we all know what to eat, what not to eat, etc. But, these are just a few things that go through my mind when prepping for that long run.

But, back to why I do what I do. Let me just quote the Active.com article. This guy, the writer Doug Robertson, says it oh, so eloquently. (from http://www.active.com/fitness/Articles/When-Does-Endurance-Training-Get-Fun.htm) “Endurance sports are not fun. Not in the traditional sense. Not like going to a movie, playing a video game, or eating ice cream. Endurance sports are hard. They hurt. Endurance sports are about suffering. So why do an endurance sport? Shouldn’t a hobby be fun? Endurance sports require a great deal of time, commitment and money. First, this isn’t a hobby. Model rockets and stamp collecting are hobbies. This is a sport. Fun isn’t the point of sport. Fun is the point of games, and as the T-shirts say, “No one plays triathlon.” All this defining still doesn’t answer the question, why do something that isn’t fun and hurts in your free time? Why spend so much time and energy risking injury, and constantly walking funny up stairs, on something that isn’t fun? Endurance training should have elements of fun. Otherwise, you would burn out.”

Back to Tess now…I agree 100% with what he said. And, yes, I have been burn out before. I was training for my first marathon last year, became injured with tendonitis, and had to take 6 weeks off and couldn’t run my marathon. But, all things happen for a reason. At the time I had to take time off, I was so burn out. It was actually a relief. I actually needed to take a break from running for multiple reasons. One was injury, but the other was because it wasn’t special to me anymore. During that time off, I had to cross train a lot, which I wasn’t as excited about as I am now. But after those 6 weeks were up, I was so ready to hit the asphalt again. I couldn’t wait to hit the road, hear my feet pound the ground and feel my heartbeat through my shirt. It’s a feeling like no other.

So, in order to break up the monotony and make it fun sometimes, here’s a few things that I do to make running fun:

  1. Group Runs. I run track on Wednesday nights with other running friends and I always look forward to that midweek motivation. I also participate with training runs for upcoming races on Saturday mornings with the Greenville Track Club, if I’m not already training for something bigger on my own (marathon, trail run, triathlon, etc.)
  2. Trail Running. This is new to me. I’m signed up for my first relay trail running marathon. I’m very excited about it. I’ve always been against it because I didn’t want to risk injury because it is a bigger risk running and jumping over roots and streams and what not. But, it also strengthens other muscles in your feet and legs because of it. I’m all about cross training now. What if I get injured again while training? I need to fall back on something like swimming or cycling if I ever lose my privilege to run. God forbid.
  3. Take different routes. I don’t run the same course each time I run. I use the Swamp Rabbit Trail a lot, but it’s over 15 miles long almost and I can start at either end or start in the middle, add on some roads or the park downtown, etc. I love running my Monday night Liberty 5k downtown. Nothing but main street and people getting off work, running, walking their dog, having supper on the street and I’m having more fun than all of them put together. That’s one run I really never get tired of.
  4. Triathlons. This, I am new to, as well. I am in training for my first triathlon for this July 8. I am totally stoked about it and I am pretty sure I’m gonna get the bug for it. I dearly love doing all three sports now. I do enough of the other 2 sports, swimming and cycling, that I don’t tire of running. In fact, I long to run more because I spend so much time cross training now. This is how it should be. Doing 3 sports really is the way to go. For me, at least.
  5. Take pictures. I want to start doing this. And since I’m blogging now, I want to carry my camera in my fuel belt to take pics of the journey as I go on long runs or bike courses. You do see awesome and sometimes weird things early in the morning and I want to share them with you.

So, let me end it with Doug Robertson’s words from Active.com. “The fun about an endurance sport is self-discovery. You discover yourself when the tough gets going. Endurance sports are fun like climbing Mount Everest or writing a novel. The process is long and arduous, it takes planning and patience and luck, and there will be numerous times along the way where you want to throw up your hands (or just throw up). Those moments aren’t fun. Those moments are brutal. Those moments happen 7 miles into a half marathon. For many runners, the 7th mile sucks. The run portion of an Olympic distance triathlon sucks for many people too. And right there, right when you’re suffering the most is when self-discovery kicks in. Once you hit the point of highest suffering there is only one place to go, and that is past it. When you learn to “embrace the suck,” as Chris McCormack calls it in his book, I’m Here To Win, you discover things about yourself you never knew.  You discover how you can challenge yourself and accomplish the challenge. Hating mile 7, walking through some aid stations, and finishing a zombie-shuffle sprint, teach you about your depths, strengths and ability to overcome. And that is fun.”

One thought on “The Question Runners Hate to Hear

Leave a comment